After Reading: The Boy Who Held Back the Sea

Connection:  In what ways did you connect to this book?

Published in: on February 27, 2012 at 2:51 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://btkissel.wordpress.com/2012/02/27/after-reading-the-boy-who-held-back-the-sea-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can connect to this book because I have felt the way that the boy in the book feels. I think it can be frustrating trying to get others to do something for a cause that you feel or know is important. I can understand his frustration when no one took him seriously about the leak.

  2. I can relate to Pieter when he is in his room waiting to be disciplined, nerve racking!

    • Me too!! I hated that, I would want and hide!

  3. This book makes me think that even though we make mistakes we can always learn from them if we try. Making mistakes is part of life but making the best out of a bad situation is always the best choice.

  4. This reminds me of a situation that happened in my class a few weeks ago. I was just about to write a note home to a parent about how their child had told me a story about something they had done. When I talked to the student they continuously told me that they promise I was wrong and that they did not do what I was blaming them for. I apologized to them for thinking they were telling me a story. BUT- I figured out a soon after that, that they had told me a story to my face. Now, I have an extremely hard time believing what they say.

    On the other hand though, I understand how Jan felt when he knew he was telling the truth but no on believed him. You can only try to explain that you are being honest so many times before you just give up.

  5. I can connect to this book because sometimes it seems no matter how much I need help I am still left to accomplish most tasks on my own.

  6. This book reminded me of how mischievous I was when I was little and how much I used to get in trouble!


Leave a Reply

