Fly Away Home: After Reading

What are your thoughts after reading this book?

Published in: on February 25, 2016 at 5:37 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://btkissel.wordpress.com/2016/02/25/fly-away-home-after-reading/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This book made me sad to read, mainly because I know it is true. I feel that this book did a wonderful job of displaying the hardships that people may go through. Something that we take for granted, like having a home, is something that other people do not experience. This was a very sad read, however, the author kept alive a theme of hope and not giving up.

    • I agree. This book made me think about how much I take for granted. I enjoyed the theme of never giving up.

  2. I found this book to be sad. It was not what I was expecting from my picture walk. I am sure that this is based on true scenarios. I have never thought about people actually living in an airport because they are in poverty. It made me sad because the boy was able to see that the bird could get our and fly away. I also noticed how the dad was determined to send his child to school. This shows that the dads wants his child to fly away. I hope this boy or other kids like him will see that they can fly away!

  3. I’ve never read this book before. I enjoyed it. I was very entertained and often wondered if the Andrew and his father would find a home. I loved how the author incorporated friendship with the other family members. They were able to help each other and feed each other through their difficult times. I felt the author left a great message at the end. Andrew just needed to focus on how the bird escaped it’s entrapment to realize one day he would find a home as well. :0 Super sweet!

  4. This book made me feel sad yet grateful for the life that I lead. A lot of times we take for granted the things that come so easy to us and feel like we “have” to have but when we reflect, a lot of our “must have’s” are not things that we NEED. I think this book reminds us all that we should appreciate all that we have and be understanding of those in circumstances that are far worse than our own.

    • I agree completely on your statement about our “must have.” This was a great reminder we probably already have more than what we need. 🙂

  5. This book is a huge reality check for me. So many times, I take for granted the little blessings in life. It is heartbreaking to think about when I have so much. This book could be used to teach some great lessons in life.


Leave a Reply

